Font Size:

Congratulations to Our 2020 EKO Scholars

September 21, 2020

Empowered Kids Ontario-Enfants Avenir Ontario is proud to announce the recipients of the 2020 EKO Scholarship. The program supports students who have been clients of an EKO member organization as they pursue their post-secondary education and career goals.

“This is a milestone year for the EKO Scholarship Program. 2020 is the 10th year EKO is awarding scholarships to deserving youth from across Ontario,” says EKO Chair Penny Smiley. “This year we received a record number of applications, making the selection process especially competitive. The EKO Scholarship Committee and Board of Directors thanks every student who applied for these awards. We applaud their accomplishments.”

This year each award provides $2,000 toward tuition in a college, university or career training program. Selection criteria include academic performance, community service, letters of recommendation and an essay describing their experiences and achievements.

“In their essays, this year’s scholarship recipients describe routine, remarkable and sometimes challenging stories,” says CEO Jennifer Churchill. Despite their different interests, academic pursuits and activities, a consistent theme emerges: the strength and resilience of young Ontarians who establish personal goals, set high expectations, and contribute positively to society.

“Every one of our 2020 EKO Scholars represents the missions of our member organizations as well as EKO’s vision to ensure kids with disabilities and their families live their best lives,” adds Churchill.

Five honorees were selected for their demonstrated leadership, exceptional academic achievement, and engagement in their schools and in community activities. Recipients of the 2020 EKO Scholarship are attending college and university programs around the province, enrolling in programs from Public Relations & Strategic Communications to Human Resources Management, Art and Animation, Social Work, and Media Production. This year’s EKO Scholars include:

Grace Kennedy, Caledon

Lina Elsaadi, Brantford

Hannah Walker, Whitby

Kellen Schleyer, Ottawa

Congratulations to the 2020 EKO Scholars.


Surrey Place Logo
George Jeffrey Children’s Centre Logo
Hands The Family Help Network Logo
Children’s Treatment Network Logo
Five Counties Children’s Centre Logo
Lumenus Community Services Logo
KidsAbility Logo
Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority Logo
Mackenzie Health Logo
Pathways Health Centre for Children Logo
One Kids Place Logo
Niagara Children’s Centre Logo
CTC Logo
Lansdowne Children’s Centre Logo
John McGivney Children’s Centre Logo
NEO Kids Logo
Quinte Children’s Treatment Centre Logo
Hamilton Health Sciences Logo
Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital Logo
Lake Ridge Community Support Services Logo
TVCC logo
Resources for Exceptional Children and Youth Logo
Cochrane Temiskaming Children's Treatment Centre Logo
Grandview Kids Logo